About Council

Liverpool Plains Shire Council is constituted under the Local Government Act 1993 and was proclaimed on 17 March 2004, following the merger of the former Quirindi Shire with parts of the former Gunnedah Shire, Murrurundi Shire and Parry Shire.

Located in the New England North West region of New South Wales, the Liverpool Plains Shire local government area is home to a permanent resident population of approximately 7,870 and covers an area of 5,086 square kilometres, including the towns of Quirindi and Werris Creek as well as several villages and hamlets, such as Blackville, Caroona, Currabubula, Pine Ridge, Premer, Spring Ridge, Wallabadah and Willow Tree.

Our organisation is large and diverse, employing 122 full-time equivalent employees and delivering a wide range of services to our community. The administration is led by our General Manager, who is responsible for the efficient and effective operation of our organisation and for ensuring the decisions of our governing body are implemented.

Our governing body comprises seven Councillors, including a Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Councillors are elected for a four-year term to represent the entire local government area rather than individual wards. Councillors make decisions on all key matters at Council meetings, which are open to members of the public.